About the Des Moines Community Jazz Center Hall of Fame

Des Moines may not be the JAZZ "capital of the world", but that hasn't stopped the Greater Des Moines Community Jazz Center (CJC) from recognizing the musical contribuitions of the city's finest and most influential musicians.

Started in 2001, the Des Moines Jazz Hall of Fame was established to hoor those musicians who have been proud to call Des Moines (or Central Iowa) home. Musicians selected for the Des moines Jazz Hall of Fame have not only influenced future generations of musicians, but have provided the city's jazz fans with years of musical adventure and enjoyment.

Each October since 2001, Des Moines' jazz fans have gathered at Adventureland Inn in Altoona (just east of Des Moines) to celebrate the contributions of many talented and dedicated individuals.  In addition, the CJC presents Special Recognition awards to musicians, jazz educators, promoters or others that have contributed to the JAZZ tradition in Central Iowa.   Another Award known as "The Bobby Dawson Award" is also presented to a student musician involved in CJC jam sessions and activities.  For information on upcoming Hall of Fame events, contact Phyllis Leaverton at 515 / 276-0777.

Hall of Fame

Jayson Alcorn - 2014 INDUCTEE

Jay Alcorn — Born and raised in Des Moines, Jay Alcorn has been associated in one way or another with a number of musicians in the Jazz Hall of Fame. His guitar teachers were Ben Harrison and Don Archer. His first gigs were with France Bates and Bobby Dawson. He was in bands with Dartanyan Brown, Sam Salomone, Jim Oatts, Stu Calhoon, Dale Convey, Scott Davis and Steve Charlson. From straight-ahead jazz to dance bands, rock to soul, Jay has enlivened the Des Moines music scene with his guitar playing and love of music.